Cupcake in a Cone

9 Jul

I’ve been really slack with my blogging lately! Believe me, we are still cooking but my little friend has decided to cut out his daytime sleep and I have found myself somewhat short on time to sit down and put our adventures on the blog.

With that said, I would like to thank my friend Claire who kindly sent me the pics and recipe for these gorgeous little cupcakes in ice cream cones. They would make a great activity to do in the school holidays – you could decorate them in any way you like!

Simple and easy the instructions – from Claire are as follows:

You just need a cake mix (I used the 75c one from Aldi).

Follow the directions to make the cake

Pour the mixture into flat bottomed ice cream cones to about 3/4 filled

Bake for about 12-15 minutes.

Once cooled ice them and add sprinkles. I didn’t have any butter so my icing is a bit flat but still gives the ice cream effect.

Some suggestions for toppings:

  • sprinkles
  • choc chips
  • small marshmallows
  • smarties
  • m&m’s
  • nuts (if there are no allergies)
  • lollies
  • crushed up crunchie or violet crumble bars
  • berries
Any more suggestions? I’d love to hear them!
Have you ever had an ice cream bar at a party? These could be a fun alternative – no melting ice cream to worry about!

Thank you to Claire for sharing :-).

3 Responses to “Cupcake in a Cone”

  1. Cathy July 9, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    These are genious!!! How do you get the cones to stay upright? Do the cones burn? Have you tried other types of cone?? So excited to try these!!

    • cookwithkids July 9, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

      Hi Cathy,

      I consulted with Claire (who is the expert :-)) and this is her response to your questions. Good luck! Would love to hear how you go.

      I had no problems with the cones staying up right as they have square flat bases. Although I would put the tray in the oven and put the filled cones on one at a time rather than trying to move a tray of filled cones from the bench to the oven.

      I haven’t had a problem with the cones burning either.

      I also haven’t tried any other cones. These work so I tend to stick with them!

      Peta

  2. Leah McGinley July 12, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Can’s wait to give these a go!

Leave a Reply

