First Day Choc Chip and Cornflake Cookies

1 Feb

My little man had his first day at preschool today. It was the first time we had ever left him with anyone other than us or Nanna so it was a big milestone in all our lives. Yesterday he was asking me for some of these biscuits and I had told him that I would make them for him while he was at preschool today. In all the emotion of this morning and saying goodbye, I had forgotten about it. Fortunately when I called preschool to see how Thomas was, they told me he had been telling them that I was going to make him biscuits while he was at preschool… Needless to say, after a little bit of an unsettled morning, he had a great day at preschool. Mummy on the other hand was in a little bit of a fog not having her little helper around. We did survive though!

These biscuits are really yummy. Thomas and I made them to take to our neighbours place a couple of weeks ago and they didn’t even make it off the cooling rack they were eaten so quickly! They’re pretty quick and easy to make which is a bonus. The recipe is from taste.com.au.

I really enjoyed baking these biscuits today. They were made with lots of love. It was quite therapeutic, not too taxing on the brain but enough to keep me busy for a little while. Thomas asked me as soon as I picked him up if I had made him biscuits… You’ve got to get your priorities right! I’m guessing I’ve set a precedent for afternoon tea after preschool… He has an amazing memory!

Ingredient:

  • 125g butter, chopped, softened
  • 2/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 1/4 cups self-raising flour, sifted
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 1/2 cups cornflakes (I recommend only using a cup)
  • 2/3 cup milk choc bits

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C. Line a large, flat baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Using an electric mixer, cream butter, sugar and vanilla in a bowl until pale and creamy. Add flour. Mix on low speed until just combined. Add milk. Stir until dough comes together. Using a wooden spoon, stir in cornflakes and choc bits.
  3. Roll tablespoonfuls of mixture into balls. Place onto trays, allowing enough room for spreading. Flatten balls slightly with a spatula.
  4. Bake cookies for 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden. Stand for 5 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining cookie mixture.
2 Responses to “First Day Choc Chip and Cornflake Cookies”

  1. Leah McGinley February 1, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    Yum. Sounds like the cookies helped him get through the day!

    • cookwithkids February 2, 2012 at 2:28 am #

      It made me feel like I was doing something productive 🙂

Leave a Reply

