‘Eat Your Greens’ Little Cakes

9 Aug

I recently bought a new cookbook called ‘Feeding Fussy Kids’ written by Antonia Kidman and Julie Maree Wood. There are a lot of great recipes in this book. What I love about it is that they talk about “making every mouthful count”. This is something that I really try and do with Thomas. Obviously he has sweets and treats and we don’t do it all the time but where I can I try to pack his foods with vegetables and fruits and err on the side of healthy rather than lots of processed foods high in sugar and salt. I try to cook lots of homemade meals and snacks so I know exactly what goes into them and I use lots of fresh ingredients. I know life is busy and often its a lot quicker and easier to grab some convenience food which is why I do use the freezer a lot.

When I saw these little cakes I thought they were fantastic and a must try. Thomas loves chocolate and cakes (who doesn’t!) and this afternoon when I asked him if he’d like to make some chocolate cupcakes he said “is it exciting Mummy?” – meaning he was excited :-). He stayed and helped me the whole time, measuring out ingredients and mixing. He is getting very good at cracking eggs now and barely needs my help (I just have to watch that the shell doesn’t go in).

These cakes have a cup and a half of green vegetables and have lots of fibre and no saturated fat, not to mention they are chocolate cupcakes… Win-win if you ask me!

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1/2 cup oil

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 cup broccoli finely grated (finely chop the tops)

1/2 cup zucchini finely grated

1/2 cup white self raising flour

1/2 cup wholemeal self raising flour

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon low fat milk

Method:

Preheat oven to 190°. Line 18 patty pans with paper cases. (I only made 12)

Whisk the eggs, oil and sugar together in a large bowl.

Add the vegetables, flours, cocoa, baking powder and milk and mix well.

Spoon into the prepared times and bake for 15-20 minutes or until springy to a gentle touch. Lift out onto a wire rack and cool.

You can make a thin glaze with water, icing sugar and cocoa powder to put on the top or eat them plain.

Ok, so they sound a little bit interesting. They do actually taste quite nice. I can’t say I would crave them but you can’t really taste the vegetables in them and Thomas thought they were great. I would recommend putting the vegies in without the kids seeing though. Thomas did say to me “Tom not like zucchini” when I told him what was in the bowl :-).

Good luck. Would love to hear what you think about them…

4 Responses to “‘Eat Your Greens’ Little Cakes”

  1. Donna August 15, 2012 at 4:02 am #

    I have this cookbook and have tried this recipe. Its really nice, the kids loved it and had no idea there were vegies in there. The sausage roll recipe in the cookbook is really nice too, the kids really enjoyed them as well.

    • cookwithkids August 15, 2012 at 5:56 am #

      It’s a great book isn’t it. Lots of fantastic tips in there as well as the great recipes!

  2. Sarah July 13, 2013 at 4:00 am #

    I got this book from the library a while back but forgot to write down this recipe. So thanks! I made these for my 2 and 4 year old today and they loved them! So easy to get some veggies into them with this recipe. :))

    • cookwithkids July 13, 2013 at 6:04 am #

      that’s great to hear Sarah! Glad to hear your kids loved them and they’re good for them too ;-).

      Peta

Leave a Reply

