Chicken Sausage Snails

3 May

I am committed to continue to serve vegetables to Thomas (unhidden) at least once a week in an effort to get him to try them. I made these sausages a while back and they were a hit but I didn’t do the whole snail thing. Today I thought I may as well try the whole picture on a plate thing and see if it helps to get my fussy eater eating his vegies…

The sausages are pretty fiddly to make so I didn’t include Thomas in the making of them but he did go and pick some parsley from the garden with Daddy to put in the sausages.

The recipe is one I found in Annabel Karmel’s ‘Feeding Your Baby and Toddler’. The sausages can be enjoyed by the whole family!

Ok, it wasn’t a huge success but he did eat more than he usually would if I put a plate of meat and veg in front of him so I guess that could be classified as a win. Just keep persisting I guess…

Ingredients:

Chicken Sausages:

375g chicken breast diced

1 medium onion finely chopped

1 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

1 chicken stock cube dissolved in 1 tbsp boiling water

2 tbsp fresh breadcrumbs (I used packaged ones)

plain flour for coating

vegetable oil for frying

Mashed Potato:

500g potatoes peeled and cut into chunks

2 tbsp milk

30g butter

To decorate:

1 carrot peeled and cut into sticks

Frozen peas

Tomato sauce

Method:

Put the chicken in a food processor with the onion, parsley, crumbled stock cube, apple and breadcrumbs until combined.

Form the mixture into sausages (each about 10-12cm long). Spread flour on a plate and roll sausages in flour. Heat vegetable oil in a pan, add the sausages and saute for about 15 minutes or until browned on all sides and cooked through.

Meanwhile, steam potatoes in some lightly salted water. Add vegetables for decorating 5 minutes before potatoes are done. and cook until tender.

Mash the potatoes with the milk and butter.

To decorate: Form the potato into a dome shape (the recipe says to use an ice cream scooper but I just used a spoon). Decorate with tomato sauce using a spiral – snail shell effect.

Put a sausage underneath each potato dome and decorate with carrots and peas. You could add another green vegetable like beans at the bottom to make grass.

The recipe says it makes 4 servings. I usually double it to feed everyone and then have some for freezing.

Note: Don’t pre-coat the sausages with the flour and leave them on a plate like I did. They all stuck together and I had to re-roll them. Just do it when you’re ready to put them into a pan. Sausages are suitable for freezing.

Leave a Reply

