Corn Fritters

21 Apr

I thought I would add some recipes that I don’t necessarily involve Thomas in cooking… Some cooking I do FOR him.

I haven’t made these fritters for a long time. Thomas used to love them and when I asked him today if he would like me to make him corn fritters for lunch his response was “no corn mumma”. Right. Just fritter then? What is it with kids that they work out so early what is good for them and refuse it? Thomas used to eat anything I put in front of him. Not any more!

Anyway, I made the fritters – with the corn (and peas and carrots) and he did eat them, four of them. The great thing about these fritters is that you can put any kind of vegetables in them. Whatever you’ve got in the fridge or the freezer. I tend to make a combo of corn and broccoli and that usually goes down well.

I got this recipe from the Annabel Karmel website originally, over time, I’ve added different vegetables and I usually make at least double and freeze the leftovers.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup plain flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 large egg

1 x 200g can sweetcorn drained

1 large spring onion finely sliced

2 tbsp sunflower or canola oil for frying

Method:

Blend all ingredients in a food processor until batter is formed.

Heat the oil in a frying pan and drop teaspoonfuls of batter into pan.

Cook for 1-2 minutes on each side or until golden.

Drain on paper towel before serving.

Another plus with this recipe is they can be eaten cold so can be taken out of the freezer and put into lunch boxes and be thawed while you’re out and about ready to eat at lunch time.

And, yet another sneaky way to get those vegies into your fussy eater! Win – win…

2 Responses to “Corn Fritters”

  1. rockmad April 21, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    Love corn fritters!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

