Nan’s ANZAC Biscuits… Lest We Forget.

20 Apr

I was brought up with a great respect for ANZAC Day and all that it represents. I hope to continue that respect and teach Thomas all about our history and the sacrifices those brave men and women made for our country and our freedom. My Pa never spoke much about the war. My Mum was born during the war and my Pa didn’t even lay eyes on her until she was 7 months old and didn’t come home until she was 18 months old. These days it’s hard to even imagine missing out on all that precious time.

I have done a bit of reading about ANZAC biscuits today and I discovered that they were originally made by the women back at home to be sent to the troops at Gallipoli during WW1. There was concern over nutrition and the biscuits were developed so they could be sent over without spoilage… There you go. I’m not sure how much nutritional value these biscuits contain but they are a big part of our culture.

This year I wanted to make these biscuits with Thomas and introduce him to ANZAC day in a way he can understand. What better way than through sweet treats! He can now say ANZAC. My Nan and Pa would be proud.

I did look up the recipe on the internet but then I came across my Nan’s original ANZAC biscuit recipe, so we made them according to her recipe.

Translation…

Ingredients:

125g butter

1 tablespoon golden syrup

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup sugar

1 cup dessicated coconut

1 cup plain flour

1 teaspoon bicarb soda

2 tablespoons boiling water

Method:

Combine oats, sugar, coconut and flour in a bowl.

Melt golden syrup and butter and add to bowl, stir to combine.

Combine bicarb and boiling water and add to mixture.

Put in spoonfuls onto trays lined with baking paper and cook in a moderate oven for approximately 20 minutes.

What will you be doing this ANZAC day? Attending an ANZAC service? Playing two up? Or baking some yummy ANZAC biscuits at home with your kids?

One Response to “Nan’s ANZAC Biscuits… Lest We Forget.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ANZAC Day Poppies « getcreativewithkids - April 24, 2012

    […] ANZAC Day is a great way to open it up for discussion in an age appropriate way. Last year we made ANZAC biscuits using my Nan’s recipe. That was pretty special and we will probably do this again this year but I wanted to do a little […]

Leave a Reply

