Spinach, Bacon and Corn Muffins

17 Apr

We went out for brunch recently and I had the yummiest spinach, bacon and corn muffin! It was absolutely derricious – served with warm butter… When I got home, I went on a mission to recreate this yummy masterpiece that I (by now) I had probably built up in my mind.

I found this recipe for savoury muffins on the Western Star Butter website. It was just a basic recipe so I added my own twist to it.

What  you will need:

2 cups self raising flour (for a healthier option, try wholemeal self raising flour)

3/4 cup grated tasty cheese

1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley leaves

125g butter melted

1 cup milk

1 egg lightly beaten

1 cup chopped bacon – pre cook in frying pan or microwave

125g creamed corn

1 spring onion finely sliced

1 cup baby spinach leaves shredded

Method:

Combine flour, cheese, parsley, spinach, creamed corn, onion and bacon in a bowl.

Add butter, milk and egg and stir with a large metal spoon until just combined.

Spoon mixture into 12 1/3 cup muffin pans.

Bake at 180C for 15-20 minutes or until golden and cooked.

What I loved about this recipe is that Thomas and I were able to go out into our newly planted vegie patch and pick some baby spinach and parsley. He is learning so much from having just a few pots of herb and vegetable plants. It’s a wonderful way for children to learn about how food grows and how to take responsibility for living things. He also gets a great sense of pride and achievement when we are able to cook with what we have grown.

A vegie garden doesn’t have to be huge or expensive. Just a few pots and a few plants is enough. Put them in an area that is accesible to children so they can observe their growth. A great mathematics activity to do with preschoolers is to measure plants as they grow. Use a ruler and graph the measurements each day.

And while I don’t think these muffins were as good as the one I had had, they still tasted pretty good…

Leave a Reply

