Orange and Choc Chip Heart Biscuits – It must be love…

26 Feb

I’m not one who is big on spending lots of money (or having it spent on me) for Valentines Day but it is nice to be made feel special. So this Valentines Day, Thomas and I made heart biscuits for the ones we love. I think making little presents for people helps children develop a sense of empathy and the idea that its not just about them but its nice to do things to make other people happy and by doing this it makes them feel happy as well. An important life skill.

Yes this is another sweet treat, this will be the last one for a little while…

This recipe is one that I got out of an Annabel Karmel book “Feeding Your Baby and Toddler”. I have to say since Thomas started eating solids this book has been so helpful. There are so many great recipes for different ages, right up to age 7(i’m sure you can keep cooking the recipes after they’re 7…). I have cooked so much from this book and was thinking the other day how great it would be as a baby shower present for a new mum. Anyway, I digress!

Ingredients:

175g butter (at room temperature)

75g icing sugar, sieved

225g self raising flour, seived

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest (although I added a little bit more, more like 1 teaspoon)

60g chocolate chips

Method:

When I made these I did them a little differently to the recipe. The first 3 steps are the way I did this, the recipe says to put all ingredients except chocolate chips into a food processor and mix until blended together. The reason I didn’t do this was that it didn’t give Thomas much of a hands on experience. He likes to do some mixing and there wasn’t much in this recipe so below is what I did…

1. Preheat oven to 180ºC

2. Put the butter into an electric mixer and beat until light and soft.

3. Mix in sifted icing sugar, flour, salt and orange zest with a wooden spoon

4. Stir in chocolate chips. Knead the dough until pliable and form it into a ball. If you have time, wrap it in cling wrap and set aside in the fridge for about 1 hour.

5. Roll out the dough to a thickness of 1/2 centimetre and cut into shapes using cookie cutters. Line a baking tray with non-stick baking paper and bake in the preheated oven for about 10 minutes or until lightly golden.

You could use any shapes for this recipe, just using basic shapes like a circle, triangle square (use playdough cutters you have at home) to help raise shape awareness. You could also use animal cutters or transport if your child likes cars and trains… Talking about all these shapes whilst making these biscuits are going to increase your child’s vocabulary.

Help your child to measure the ingredients which teaches them basic measurement (early maths skills) and introduces them to concept words such as 1 cup and fractions (1/2 teaspoon). I noticed this morning when Thomas was helping me get his breakfast (he has 2 & 1/2  weet bix) we counted them into the bowl and after 2 he said “half”. He already is developing a basic knowledge of fractions which will help him with maths in the future.

If you can get your hands on a four leaf clover cutter (I googled it and they exist) you could make these biscuits for St Patricks Day which is coming up next month. Or an easter bunny for Easter in April. Use your imagination!


2 Responses to “Orange and Choc Chip Heart Biscuits – It must be love…”

  1. amanda E-J February 26, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    Hey Peta,
    if you find Bilby cutters, let me know…I’m doing an Aussie Easter + my group’s name is BILBIES this year! Then I think I’ll make some of these yummy biscuits. Numeracy learning made tasty!!

Leave a Reply

