Hello world!

17 Feb

I am a mum of a 2 year old boy who (as most toddlers do) enjoys helping me out around the house. This as I’m sure you can imagine has its moments! I don’t mind at all but it does take alot longer to complete the tasks when he is ‘helping’.

One of the things he enjoys most at the moment is helping in the kitchen.

As an early childhood trained teacher, I love to observe him learning. I am always thinking of different things for us to do that will challenge and stimulate his learning.

Through my previous experience with children, I know that cooking is a great learning experience. There are many things that can be taught to children in one cooking experience. Things such as basic maths skills, literacy, fine motor (hand) skills not to mention knowledge and a love for food. Its also a great way to get kids to eat things that they normally wouldn’t touch! They’re alot more likely to try it when they’ve made it (that wonderful concept of independence!).

In this blog I hope to share some of our cooking experienes including recipes, tips for things to talk about and ideas for how to keep it running smoothly. I also hope it will inspire you to take a cooking adventure with your own kids! One word of advice though – prepare for mess! Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. kerry melgaard February 19, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Very interesting read and lots of information.

    Look forward to more recipes and updates.

    • Linda Lennie March 24, 2011 at 10:33 am #

      Hi, I just got a chance to read your blog… this is fantastic!! Lots of good info and yummy recipes. I will have to start cooking with Charlie. Good on you!

Leave a Reply

